Dirty duck…

Standard

Since I haven’t blogged in 10 years (not really but it feels like it) let me recap my turkey day and long weekend for ya’ll…

Wednesday night we got to my parents, had a delicious dinner, I made my cranberry relish and my mom prepared a duck she was going to roast the next day for Thanksgiving.  My hubby and I then placed the duck in compromising positions and took dirty pictures of it… HA HA HA!!!

Sorry mom I had to add that!

SO, on Thanksgiving morning I woke up bright and early to head to my “5k Turkey Trot” race.  I felt like crap but thought it was just that I was a tad anxious since I hadn’t ran in a race for so long.  The race started at 8:30am (or so I thought), my parents live about 5 minutes away and luckily we left early (thanks to my step-dad) that as we pulled up, the race (that started at 8am) was taking off and I literally jumped out of the car to the start line and started running.

I tried to get into the zone but considering not feeling good and having the anxiety at the start of the race it completely set the tone.  The entire I race I looked my watch and just told myself, “let’s get this over with.”  I didn’t enjoy a single minute of the run, which makes me sad as I reflect back to it.  I did however PR!  I finished in 30 minutes exactly and my watch said I ran 3.25 miles total, last year I ran it in 32 minutes.

After the race I got back to my parents and started getting ready and gradually started feeling worse and worse and WORSE!  By the time we got to my grandma’s for Thanksgiving I knew I definitely had the flu.  I will spare you the details but I spent more time in the bathroom and laying in my grandma’s bed than I did anything else.  I was SO excited to eat this year and I barely ate anything.  It was a total turkey day fail:(!  We headed up back home that night and I was down for the count.  The rest of the weekend was spent taking it extremely easy and I didn’t even feel back to my normal self until Sunday evening.

So that was my Turkey day… BOO!  I’m over it now though and am loading up on my vitamins and purel until    C-mas!  I’ll be damned if I get sick again!

On a more positive note I did manage to get all my Christmas decorating done pre-Thanksgiving:)

Tree #1

Tree #2

And tree #3

I went all out this year and even surprised myself a bit!  Could this Scrooge actually be getting into the Christmas spirit?!?  Hmmmm…..

Yesterday was my last day of Shred so tune in tomorrow for my Shred update and review (yea glad it’s over)!!!  I will also announce what I have up my sleeve for December, “Christmas Challenge” anyone:)!?!?

What was your favorite part about Thanksgiving? 

Mine was seeing my grandma!  Even though I didn’t get to talk with her much, when you still get to snuggle next to your 83 year-old grandma on a holiday not much else has to go right to make it a good day.

 

3 responses »

  1. That duck cracks me up. Totally something I would do!
    My favorite part of Thanksgiving is all the one on one time I get to spend with Colin. We’re always so busy that it’s nice to just hang out together for a few days without all the chaos.

Leave a Reply

