Adele live in Royal Oak…

Standard

So sorry this post/review is a couple days late buttttt I couldn’t not celebrate my blogs one year anniversary and yesterday we had a huge storm come through.  So like I posted a while back the hubby got me tickets to see Adele way back on Valentines day and the day had arrived… May 23rd in Royal Oak, MI:)!!!

Since Royal Oak is about a 3.5 hour drive for us, Mike and I took a half day off of work Monday and then all of Tuesday off.  My mom hooked us up with a hotel Monday night so the hubby and I had mini vacation:)

We got into Royal Oak around 5pm and the doors opened to the show at 7pm so we decided to check out the town and get some dinner.  Royal Oak is a really cute trendy town and we ended up dining at Mr. B’s Pub.  Their food was delicious!!!


After dinner we walked around for a bit before making our way over to the venue.  Walking to the venue we knew we had alittle bit of a wait ahead of us once we saw this…

The line was about a mile long but moving pretty quickly so we ended up getting inside around 7:45pm.  We quickly found a good place to stand since it was general admission and no one had “assigned” standing spots (there were no seats).  We killed time by snapping some more photos.

The opener for Adele was this guy called, “Plan B”.

He really wasn’t our cup of tea, but I commend anyone that gets up on stage and performs to a sold out show.  Plan B finished around 8:45pm and then Adele’s crew quickly set up the stage for performance.  At 9:15pm the lights dimmed and then we heard Adele’s amazing voice start singing, “Hometown”.  And we saw this…

Her set was awesome as well, it was covered with lamp shades.

She sang numerous songs off her first cd 19 as well as her latest cd 21.  She talked alot in between songs and explained why she wrote a lot of the songs as well as what they meant for example:

“My Same”- She wrote this song about her and her best friend.

“You said I’m stubborn and I never give in
I think you’re stubborn ‘cept you’re always softening
You say I’m selfish, I agree with you on that
I think you’re giving out in way too much in fact”

“Set Fire To the Rain”- She wrote this song about her lighter while smoking a cigarette.

“But I set fire to the rain
Watched it pour as I touched your face
Well, it burned while I cried
‘Cause I heard it screaming out your name, your name”

“Take it All”- About the latest love of her life who broke up with her.

“But go on and take it,
Take it all with you,
Don’t look back,
At this crumbling fool,
Just take it all,
With my love,
Take it all,
With my love”

She played a little over an hour and a half and every song was perfect!  She sounds spot on to her CD if not better.  I lovvvvvvvvvve her and CAN’T wait to see her again!!!  This was truly the best gift Mike could’ve of gotten me, plus it was fun celebrating “Valentines Day” 4 months later!  If you ever have a chance to go see Adele do yourself a favor and GO she’s amazing:)!!!

Even though the picture quality on this video we took blows… it gives me goosebumps to hear all the people singing!  This was her last song and the crowd was so into it!!!

4 responses »

  1. That’s so funny about Set Fire to the Rain because my girls always ask me what it’s about. They heard a clip of hers where she explains that so much of 21 is about her recent break up. So they think every song is about either loving him or breaking up with him. Setting fire to rain confuses them. 🙂 It looks like a truly perfect evening. So glad you were able to make a little mini vacay out of the event.

  2. AHHHHHHH! Next time, I don’t care….I will be there! I have to see her at least once! So happy that you and Mike have the same passion, sooooo important! Hugs!

Leave a Reply

