Rain… rain go AWAY!

Standard

It’s been raining non-stop here the last two days and I frankly am SICK of it!  My runs need to be taken back outdoors because running on the treadmill again today made me feel like a robot or a…

I read a great article on Yahoo today called “6 Snacks You Should Eat Every Day“.  I was pretty happy because I currently have 4 of these “snacks” in my pantry and fridge.  For the full list go here, but below is a preview of the snacks I have on hand.

1.  Best Yogurt– Fage Total 2% Plain Greek Yogurt

I really like using Greek yogurt in smoothies, as a substitute as sour cream or it’s yummy just plain.

2.) Best finger food– Almonds

My favorite brand is Emerald’s 100 calorie almond packs.  I love almonds so its easy to indulge but the snack pack makes it a no brainer!

3.) Best Dip SnackSabra Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

I have the original flavor in my fridge right not and I am obsessed with this stuff.  I use it as a dressing on sandwiches, on my salads and to dip veggies in.  It’s delicious!

4.) Best Drink– Lowfat Chocolate Milk

I switched over to lite soy milk a couple years ago so I currently have Silk LightChocolate Milk in my fridge.  This is a great snack after a long run (right Katie)!

Other great snacks I like to keep on hand but weren’t on the list include:

SantaFe Tortilla Company- Whole wheat tortillas

Breakstone’s Lowfat Cottage Cheese

Cleaned & sliced fresh veggies and fruits

What are some of your “must have” healthy snacks you keep on hand?

4 responses »

  1. I love all of those things too! I really am not much of a snacker but I HAVE to supplement my lunch daily with a post-workout smoothie these days. So bananas and greek yogurt are high on my list. I’m trying out the Fage for the first time tomorrow!!

  2. Hummus, check! Almonds, check! My must have is an apple a day! oh and of course my daily oatmeal with blueberries …. yummo! 😉

Leave a Reply

