Well hello Monday:)…

Standard

Although its only 5:30pm and Monday isn’t technically over I think its safe to say it has been a pretty fantastic day:)!!!

I woke up this morning well rested and ready to conquer my to do list:

1.)   WORK

2.)   Pay bills:-(

3.)   Run 8 miles….

Work has FINALLY slowed down a little bit with the holiday this week so I was able to work ahead (which I love to do).  Being ahead in work (life) is what helps me sleep at night.

In between work I was able to pay some bills and I still have some $$$ left over so that’s always a plus:-)!  On my lunch break I jumped on the treadmill and busted out an 8 mile run!!! I ran for 40 minutes stopped refueled with some G2 and a GU and I hopped right back on and ran for 40 more!  My run today was that farthest I ever ran all at once so I was (still am) pretty damn proud of myself.  Runs like today’s don’t make the upcoming half marathon seem so unreachable!

 After my run my ankle’s and calves were pretty tight and sore so I decided to try my first ice bath!!! Here’s a video to describe the torture I endured….

I didn’t use near as much ice as this chick did… but I probably did make some of the funny noises:-)!  My ice bath was interesting… as soon as I got in I felt like I was having a heart attack… how do those polar bears do it?!?!

However once my body got used to the freezing sensation I was actually able to sit back and “relax” and read some of the new Rolling Stone magazine my hubby got in the mail today.  Look who’s on the cover;-)!!!

 Doesn’t she look beautiful… the article was really good as well and it reminded me that next month I get to see her AGAIN in concert, SO excited!  Anyways the best part about the ice bath was when it was over… my legs felt refreshed and actually really good!  I’m not going to make it an every run occurrence but for those days I really push myself and do a lot of mileage like today I think it will become a must!

Once my ice bath was over I got right back to work and I immediately tuned into the Boston Marathon results since it was today…

“Kenya’s Geoffrey Mutai won the Boston Marathon in 2 hours, 3 minutes, 2 seconds – the fastest anyone has ever run the 26.2-mile distance.”

Can you imagine!!! My goal is to finish the HALF-MARATHON in 2:20.  Some people were just born to run!  This week is gonna be a long one so I’m happy it got started off on the right foot!  I’m going to try to resist the temptation of reality TV tonight so I can hit the hay early and read a few more chapers of “Water for Elephants”.

I’m only 30 pages in but it is already SOOO good!  I made a promise to myself that I am going to finish the book before seeing the movie.  Hope you guys had a great day!!!

4 responses »

  1. You are CRAZY!! Wow, good for you and what you all accomplished today!! Adele does look beautiful~please bring CD this weekend 🙂

  2. You are so brave with that ice bath! 8 on the TM-what a rockstar! I have to do 6 today on the TM (it’s raining) but I’ll be rocking out to Adele. I am obsessed with her new album. I thought at first it was just one or two songs but the whole thing is amazing. Could you sneak me into your purse for the concert? I can roll up into a pretty small ball. 🙂

Leave a Reply

