S.M.A.R.T. goals

Standard

Tonights post is inspired from my Team Challenge running coach Heather.  Earlier this week she sent out an email to our team telling us to start thinking about a picking a S.M.A.R.T. goal.  This morning at our group run we went around and all listed what are personal goal was.

Let me disclaimer my response by this… For some reason I was REALLY anxious for my run and not in an excited way.  I slept like crap last night and I kept thinking about have to wake up and run for an hour this morning, I knew that 60 minutes meant running almost 6 miles and that mileage intimated me.  6 miles is the farthest I have ever ran at one time without stopping, I also have been battling some digestive issues during and after my runs so that worried me as well.  And of course my mind worried me, running is SOOO mental after 4 miles for me.  Right after mile 4 negative thoughts start rolling in, “you can’t do this”, “aren’t you tired?”.  Our team is comprised of runners and walkers and some run/walkers.  Most of the runners are running an 8:30 to a 9:00 minute mile and then there’s me with my 10-10:30 minute mile and the rest of the team is most run/walkers.  So most of the time on our group run I am still by myself so my mind really still has a way of getting to me.  Couple negative self talk + digestive issues and it can really make for a stressful run.


Before I explain my S.M.A.R.T. goal let me explain what one is:

S = Strategic and Specific

The goal should identify a specific action or event that will take place. Answers the question: Who and What?

M = Measurable

Include in the specific goal statement the measurements to be used to determine that the results or outcomes expected have been achieved. It answers the question: How?

A = Attainable

Goals should challenge people to do their best, but they need also be achievable

R = Realistic

Goals need to pertain directly to the performance challenge being managed.

T = Time Bound

Enough time to achieve the goal And Not too much time, which can affect project performance. It answers the question: When?  SET A DEADLINE.

So, circle back around to my response this morning when I was asked what my S.M.A.R.T. goal was….

“My goal is improve my time so I am running a 10 minute mile or under consistently. Since we are running 60 minutes today I want to run 6 miles.”

When Heather asked me how I was going to do that my response was, “Run faster?”.  Well DUH…. My lack of a detailed plan of action really got me thinking.  I know I can run a ten minute mile I’ve done it numerous times before and I did it this morning no problem so my goal was kind of weak.  So I told myself if I’m going to set S.M.A.R.T. goals about anything they need to be outside of my comfort zone and something I truly want and need to do to make myself a better person.  Setting weak goals is like a person who doesn’t drink giving up taking shots of tequila for Lent… it’s POINTLESS!

I’ve decided to set one S.M.A.R.T goal each for my mind, body, and spirit.  Setting and achieving a positive goal in each category will make me not only a better person but also will help me to see the connection amongst the three.  Every Monday throughout the month of April I will evaluate my progress at these goals and will share with all of you my findings.  No goal worth setting is every easily reached!

April S.M.A.R.T Goals:

MIND- “My goal is to practice positive self-talk daily, and carry those positive affirmations into my runs.”

BODY- “My goal is too strength train 2 times a week for at least 30 minutes, and to track my progress.”

SPIRIT- “My goal is to become a more “mindful” person.  I will meditate 3 times a week for at least 20 minutes.”


I challenge all of you reading this to set at least one S.M.A.R.T. goal for yourself!  Please feel free to share:)!!!



 

3 responses »

  1. Ahhhhhhhh………I love this!! Sorry to put you on the spot this morning, btw. 🙂
    And I’m totally researching your belly issues. I hope to have something for you by tomorrow or Wednesday to try….

  2. “Optimism is the faith that leads to achievement. Nothing can be done without hope or confidence.”…. Helen Keller
    Regardless if it is a 10 min. mile or a 30 min. mile, I will be there at the finish line, screaming the loudest, cheering you on, with my heart so full it will feel like it’s going to burst!!
    I really liked this blog, it’s very inspirational!!

Leave a Reply

