My so called life…

Standard

Scooby Update:

If the last couple days were a “Intro To Parenting” course I am in NO way ready!  Like I blogged about on Monday, my four legged son had dental surgery.  Monday night went well, I think he was still really drugged up from the surgery but Tuesday morning was a whole different story!!!  Scooby wouldn’t eat any breakfast therefore I wasn’t able to give him his antibiotics or his pain pill so at 8:30am the crying and whining started, he was in pain and he was letting me know it!  I called the vet quite upset because I felt so bad that I put him through this and I really just didn’t know what to do.  The vet told me to come back in and she would give him a pain shot as well as a pain patch that would release pain meds every couple hours so I didn’t have to worry about giving him taking a pill for relief.  So back to the vet we went and Scooby got a little “Charlie Sheen”:)

They had to shave a little patch of hair off of his back and the pain patch seems to be stapled into his back, he gets it removed on Friday morning.  Today he is doing MUCH better and seems to back to his high maintenance self, he is eating and the whining and crying has stopped… thank god!!!

Team Challenge Update:

Team Challenge is going GREAT!  I am only $460.00 away from reaching my goal and am SOOOO excited!  Donations are still slowly coming in and I am now planning a bake sale at a local running store to help get roll in some additional funds.  My website has been updated and revamped to show EVERYONE who has donated to me.

http://www.active.com/donate/virginia11neohio/OHIOASocrat

Please if you are reading this and haven’t donated please do, any amount will help!!!!  I have gotten a lot of questions in my fundraising endeavor that I would like to share with you in case you have them as well!

What is Crohn’s Disease?

Crohn’s disease is an ongoing disorder that causes inflammation of the digestive tract, also referred to as the gastrointestinal (GI) tract. Crohn’s disease can affect any area of the GI tract, from the mouth to the anus, but it most commonly affects the lower part of the small intestine, called the ileum. The swelling extends deep into the lining of the affected organ. The swelling can cause pain and can make the intestines empty frequently, resulting in diarrhea.

Image of the digestive tract.

Crohn’s disease is an inflammatory bowel disease, the general name for diseases that cause swelling in the intestines. Because the symptoms of Crohn’s disease are similar to other intestinal disorders, such as irritable bowel syndrome and ulcerative colitis, it can be difficult to diagnose. Ulcerative colitis causes inflammation and ulcers in the top layer of the lining of the large intestine. In Crohn’s disease, all layers of the intestine may be involved, and normal healthy bowel can be found between sections of diseased bowel.

Crohn’s disease affects men and women equally and seems to run in some families. About 20 percent of people with Crohn’s disease have a blood relative with some form of inflammatory bowel disease, most often a brother or sister and sometimes a parent or child. Crohn’s disease can occur in people of all age groups, but it is more often diagnosed in people between the ages of 20 and 30. People of Jewish heritage have an increased risk of developing Crohn’s disease, and African Americans are at decreased risk for developing Crohn’s disease.  Crohn’s disease may also be called ileitis or enteritis.- Source

When is your actual race?

June 4th, 2011 in Loudoun, VA

How far is the race?  Do you want to run the entire thing?

The race is a half marathon which is 13.1 miles.  YES my goal is to run the entire race!

What is your fundraising deadline?

My goal is to be at my goal by April 4th, 2011 so if there is even the slightest chance you may donate please do so TODAY:)  Via my website, or if you prefer to send a check, you can contact me directly via email at: kirkendalla@gmail.com

Please help guys I am SOOO close!  Woo hoo:-)!

OPRAH:

Today while completing my 50 minute run on the treadmill I watched a GREAT episode of Oprah.  The topic was “Are You Happy”?  And it was very interesting, they talked about Americas happiest city, as well as the happiest jobs!  Oprah listed this online quiz:

http://www.oprah.com/oprahshow/Poll-Are-You-Happy

The most interesting fact that I learned was…. Research from the University of Colorado at Boulder and Cornell University shows that spending money on a life experience produces longer-lasting happiness than spending money on material things; in fact, the impact of a new material thing only lasts about nine months.

Can you say TEAM CHALLENGE!!!

2 responses »

  1. You’re doing so great (both fundraising and training!) – you’re going to get there for sure!! Let me know if you want me to bake anything for the bake sale – I’m more than happy to help!
    Hope Scooby’s feeling better today. Give him lots of hugs. 🙂

  2. I’m so proud and so excited all at the same time!! You WILL do it and you are right, life experience is so much better than the old material things…..kind of puts things in perspective doesn’t it? :))

Leave a Reply

