Running & White Chicken Chili….

Standard

I should of recapped on my Team Challenge run or the lack of the run last night but in staying true to doing absolutely nothing yesterday I forgoed blogging as well!  Sunday morning was a bust we got snow and ice and MORE flooding Saturday night so the trail that we run on was closed for our run.  I didn’t get the call that training was cancelled until I was half way there but I was running late from scrapping 3 inches off of ice my car so I was frazzled already… I hate being late.  I decided that since I was already up I would just head to the grocery store and pick up a few things.

A couple weeks ago Mike and I went to our friends to watch the WWF fight and my friend Amanda made “White Chicken Chili”, it was SO good I took pictures of the recipe she used out of her crock pot book.  I picked up all the supplies to make it yesterday and Mike and I enjoyed the yummy recipe tonight for dinner!

White Chicken Chili

3   15-ounce cans Great Northern, pinto, or cannellini (white kidney) beans, rinsed and        drained.

2.5  cups chopped cooked chicken (I used Swansons canned chicken)

1.5 cups chopped red, green, and or yellow sweet peppers (2 medium)

1 cup of chopped onion

2 fresh jalapeno chile peppers.  Seeded and chopped.  (I left the seeds in mine)

2 teaspoons of ground cumin

1 Tbsp. of garlic powder

1/2 tsp. of salt.

3.5 cups of chicken broth

Directions

1. In a crock pot combine drained beans, chicken, sweet peppers, onion, jalapeno peppers, cumin, garlic and salt.  Pour broth over mixture in cooker.

2. Cover and cook on low-heat setting for 8-10 hours or on high-heat setting for 4-5 hours.

3. If desired, top each serving with shredded cheese and/or tortilla chips (We both did this and it really made the chili).

This recipe rocks and is SUPER easy.  I will be eating this the rest of the week!  Since my run was cancelled yesterday I wanted to stay on track with my training so I did a 45 minute outdoor run today and ran 4.5 miles:)!  I really like the training schedule I am on and am finding it to be very doable!

Hope everyone had a great Monday!

4 responses »

Leave a Reply

