Revelations while running…

Standard

I don’t what my problem has been this week but my motivation to workout has pretty much been non-existent!  I’ve still done it but not with much enthusiasm.  Today I had an easy three mile run planned to tackle, however, the thought of getting on the treadmill was just not an option!  So since the sun was out I bundled up and headed to Sand Run jogging trail.

Usually in the winter they plow the trail for the run/walkers but not today:(… It was ok though I just ran on the road and watched for cars.  Since the trail is through a metro park cars tend to actually drive slow and watch for people!

I had a lot on my mind when I started my run today…. nothing big mostly white noise aka negative things that don’t matter.  However once I began to focus on my breathing and draw in the beautiful snowy forest around me, I realized this is why I run.  Running has the power to take your mind off the shitty negative things most people tend to dwell on, and nine times out of ten when that run is over whatever shitty negative things you WERE thinking about are now pointless to you.

Another thing that came into my head on my run was how ridiculous it was that I felt I “had” to run today.  Do you know how many people wish they could go for a run… be outside… find a positive stress reliever…

So the next time you don’t feel like running… going to work…. or working at anything please remember

Most of the shadows of this life are caused by our standing in our own sunshine.
Ralph Waldo Emerson

There are three kinds of people in the world, the wills, the won’ts and the can’ts. The first accomplish everything; the second oppose everything; the third fail in everything.
Eclectic Magazine

When one door closes another opens. But often we look so long so regretfully upon the closed door that we fail to see the one that has opened for us.
Helen Keller

3 responses »

  1. I’ve been lacking in the running motivation lately too. I’m feeling a little injured and want to pretend that I’m not. Really proud of you for getting out there despite the lethargy. 🙂 How are you lovin the new Adele album? Girl…I tell you what…she can SING.

Leave a Reply

