You spin me right round baby…

Standard

Sorry this post is a day late but I was really tired yesterday!!!  I was recently inspired to pick spinning back up after my bff Jill went to her first spin class a couple weeks ago and had a “near death” experience…

Jill walked away from the class very sore and traumatized….  I attribute her bad experience to a bad instructor teaching the class.  Spinning can be a very advanced workout and its up to the instructor to explain that to the class!  How do I know so much about this….  because I used to teach spinning while I was in college.  Once I got out into the real world and got a full-time job teaching fell to the way side, and I often think about getting just my spin certification again because I loved teaching the class SO much (I mostly like screaming at people for an hour)!

I’ve had a lot of people in the past ask me what spinning is so in case you are wondering as well:

Indoor cycling (spinning), as an organized activity, is a form of exercise with classes focusing on endurance, strength, intervals, higher intensity (race days) and recovery, that involves using a special stationary exercise bicycle with a weighted flywheel in a classroom setting.– Source Wikpedia

I have read that you can burn up to 500 calories in a 40 minute class!  The class I took last night was AWESOME and 55 min. so burn baby burn!  I think spinning is a great addition to my running and I am definitely going to get back into it!

Clean Eating Day #9

Breakfast: 1 bagel thin, 1 Tsp. of natural peanut butter, 8oz. of water, Coffee

Snack: 1 fiber one vanilla yogurt cup, 1 banana

Lunch: Salad with 1 hardboiled egg, carrots, onions, chickpeas, mushrooms, black olives.  With 2 Tsp. of low-fat ranch dressing.  Orange

Snack: 1 whole grain wrap with one slice of low-fat deli ham.

Dinner: 6 inch Subway veggie sub.

Snack: Cottage cheese cup.

Challenges: I didn’t sleep well Monday night so I was dragging but ALL day.  Luckily the spinning class revived me a little bit.  Eating was easy overall though.   I’m starting to make the mind-body connection that eating shitty food completely sabotages my workouts, and I am working out WAY to hard to let that happen!

4 responses »

  1. Spinning is a fantastic workout!

    And I totally love yelling at the participants in my class at the gym, too. It’s so satisfying when we’re done and they’re all dripping sweat and glaring at me…. 🙂

  2. I’ve never been to a spin class, but it looks fun! When I eat crap, I feel like crap, exercise like crap, and well, you get the picture! The cleaner I eat the better I feel 🙂

  3. You should take “spinning” back up. Remember? I went to one of your classes and I really liked it. It is an awesome workout and yes, right now I do feel like crap after eating Mexican….. 😦

  4. It was the death of me!! worst physical pain i have ever experienced days later. So as a disclaimer, one needs to be in some what of shape to engage in a spinning class! and what a fabulous picture of your bff!

Leave a Reply

