Clean Eating…

Standard

First let me start by saying that Saturday was alot of fun!  It was good to see my friends and share some laughs!  However… I’ll let someone else host next time, nine girls can make a MESS and yesterday was spent cleaning the entire house and napping:)!

So last year I purchased two great books about “Clean Eating”. A girl I used to work with ate “clean” 95% percent of the time and she had a rocking body!  So what is “clean eating”:

Some important concepts of this diet are portion control, making sure to eat every 2 to 3 hours, drinking at least 8 cups of water daily and eating a combination of lean proteins and complex carbohydrates with each meal.[3]– Wikepia

A couple weeks ago I dug my books back out and decided that in the month of February I was going to challenge myself.  I got my challenge idea from Stephanie over at “Thorns Have Roses“.  Stephanie went raw for 30 days and did awesome!  Although I am most definitely not going raw for a month “eating clean” is for the most part, no processed foods, no alcohol (what the hell am I thinking), and is going to be a challenge…

I started “eating clean” today and have meals planned for the entire week.  I plan to work on the rest of this months menu to better plan.  My goal is to eat clean until March 1st, 2011,  I will give a run down of what I am eating each day until then (I will more than likely will not take pictures of everything, I’m sure ya’ll know what an apple looks like).

I am still doing Weight Watchers along with my eating clean, I think it will be just the thing I need to get off this plateau I have hit lately!   I will still blog about life in general so no need to worry this will all of a sudden turn into a “Clean Eating” blog.  My plan is to just do a quick recap at the end of my blog each day like the following!  So lets do the damn thing:

Clean Eating Day #1

Breakfast: 1 cup of cooked oatmeal, 1/2 cup of blueberries, 4 scrambled egg whites, black coffee, 2 8oz. of water

Snack: 1 medium apple, 1 Tsp. all natural peanut butter

Lunch: Whole grain wrap with 1/4 avocado & 4oz. of low sodium turkey breast.  Handful of carrots, cucumbers and sliced red pepper

Snack: Smoothie with a banana, fiber one vanilla yogurt cup, spinach, a scoop of whey vanilla protein powder, 1/8 cup light vanilla soy milk, ice.

Dinner: 5oz. cooked chicken breast, 1 cup whole grain brown rice, 1 cup of broccoli, 1 cup of canned diced tomatoes.

Snack: Tangerine & a handful of raw almonds.  (I will eat this before bed so around 9pm)

Challenges: Today was easy because duh… it was day one.  It was hard to make myself eat every 2-3 hours, I tend to sit at my computer ALL day on Monday’s so it forced me to get up more.  Right now I would like a sweet treat because it my time of the month (TMI, I know:)… but I’m about to eat my final snack for the day so I hope it helps that craving go away.

Wish me luck friends!

4 responses »

  1. This is SUCH an awesome challenge! I will be your cheerleader, ok? 🙂 I’ll be reading no matter what you talk about…but I’m excited to see how you do! I can NOT eat that often. I really probably should to help speed up my metabolism. Maybe I’ll work on that this month! BEST of Luck Ang!!!!

  2. I will be ur Cheerleader also! I will take the no alcohol challenge with you for one month?? 30 days?? wow?? You go!, I know You can do it!!!

Leave a Reply

