Killer recipe before a killer workout…

Standard

First let me start this post by I am SOOOOOOOOO happy tomorrow is Friday!  I have an exciting weekend ahead of me which I spill about in tomorrow’s post but today has been a long day and I’m beat so let’s get to blogging…

Last night instead of following our meal plan, we got a sandwich from our favorite spot Primo’s Deli.  Since I didn’t want the produce planned for last nights dinner to go to waste, I decided to make it for lunch today!

KILLER RECIPE ALERT:

Hamburger Buddy

INGREDIENTS

  • 3 cloves garlic, crushed and peeled
  • 2 medium carrots, cut into 2-inch pieces
  • 10 ounces white mushrooms, large ones cut in half
  • 1 large onion, cut into 2-inch pieces
  • 1 pound 90%-lean ground beef
  • 2 teaspoons dried thyme
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon freshly ground pepper
  • 2 cups water
  • 1 14-ounce can reduced-sodium beef broth, divided
  • 8 ounces whole-wheat elbow noodles, (2 cups)
  • 2 tablespoons Worcestershire sauce
  • 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup reduced-fat sour cream
  • 1 tablespoon chopped fresh parsley, or chives for garnish

PREPARATION

1.  Fit a food processor with the steel blade attachment. With the motor running, drop garlic through the feed tube and process until minced, then add carrots and mushrooms and process until finely chopped. Turn it off, add onion, and pulse until roughly chopped.

2.  Cook beef in a large straight-sided skillet or Dutch oven over medium-high heat, breaking it up with a wooden spoon, until no longer pink, 3 to 5 minutes. Stir in the chopped vegetables, thyme, salt and pepper and cook, stirring often, until the vegetables start to soften and the mushrooms release their juices, 5 to 7 minutes.

3.  Stir in water, 1 1/2 cups broth, noodles and Worcestershire sauce; bring to a boil. Cover, reduce heat to medium and cook, stirring occasionally, until the pasta is tender, 8 to 10 minutes.

4.  Whisk flour with the remaining 1/4 cup broth in a small bowl until smooth; stir into the hamburger mixture.

5.  Stir in the sour cream. Simmer, stirring often, until the sauce is thickened, about 2 minutes. Serve sprinkled with parsley (or chives), if desired.

And ENJOY this recipe rocks….

And now on to the part of my day that kicked my ASS.  Through my daily blog reading I stumbled on this website:

http://www.bodyrock.tv/

This website is NO joke!  I have been looking for some killer at home workouts to do on the days that I need to take a break from running and this is definitely it!  First off just look at Zuzana who runs this fitness blog:

I looked at numerous workouts on her site and decided to go with the “Swimming In My Own Sweat Workout“.

Workout Breakdown


  • 1. ONE ARM SANDBAG SWING (RIGHT ARM)10 reps
  • ONE ARM SANDBAG SWING (LEFT ARM)10 reps
  • BURPEES20
  • 2. ONE ARM SANDBAG SWING (RIGHT ARM)10 reps
  • ONE ARM SANDBAG SWING (LEFT ARM)10 reps
  • BURPEES19 reps
  • 3. ONE ARM SANDBAG SWING (RIGHT ARM)10 reps
  • ONE ARM SANDBAG SWING (LEFT ARM)10 reps
  • BURPEES18 reps
  • 4. ONE ARM SANDBAG SWING (RIGHT ARM)10 reps
  • ONE ARM SANDBAG SWING (LEFT ARM)10 reps
  • BURPEES17 reps
  • 5. ONE ARM SANDBAG SWING (RIGHT ARM)10 reps
  • ONE ARM SANDBAG SWING (LEFT ARM)10 reps
  • BURPEES16 reps
  • 6. ONE ARM SANDBAG SWING (RIGHT ARM)10 reps
  • ONE ARM SANDBAG SWING (LEFT ARM)10 reps
  • BURPEES15 reps
  • 7. ONE ARM SANDBAG SWING (RIGHT ARM)10 reps
  • ONE ARM SANDBAG SWING (LEFT ARM)10 reps
  • BURPEES14 reps
  • 8. ONE ARM SANDBAG SWING (RIGHT ARM)10 reps
  • ONE ARM SANDBAG SWING (LEFT ARM)10 reps
  • BURPEES13 reps
  • 9. ONE ARM SANDBAG SWING (RIGHT ARM)10 reps
  • ONE ARM SANDBAG SWING (LEFT ARM)10 reps
  • BURPEES12 reps
  • 10. ONE ARM SANDBAG SWING (RIGHT ARM)10 reps
  • ONE ARM SANDBAG SWING (LEFT ARM)10 reps
  • BURPEES11 reps

This workout made my 6 mile run yesterday seem like a piece of cake!  The whole routine took me 35.00 minutes to complete (I stopped quite a few times because I thought I was going to hurl!)  Half way through each burpee felt like I was carrying this guy on my back…

I walked on the treadmill for a mile just to get my heart rate down to a not-dying rate! I’m interested to see how I feel tomorrow (will I be able to get out of bed)?!?

So thats all folks, now I’m off to watch these Real Housewife crazy biotches yell at each about who’s richer on the reunion show….

4 responses »

  1. recipe looks yummy!! Sounds like a killer workout! Good for YOU!! I love my housewifes, can’t wait till next Tuesday night! We have a date at 9pm!

Leave a Reply

