Why is it called eggplant, when there’s no egg in it? …

Standard

Since I had a delicious eggplant in the fridge that needed to be used up I decided to be creative and make a healthier version of “eggplant parmesan”!

Ingredients:

1/2 Eggplant thinly sliced with skin removed,  1/3 cup of whole wheat breadcrumbs,  1 tsp. of reduced fat parmesan cheese,  Dash of salt & pepper & garlic seasoning,  1 egg white,  1 slice of Sargento reduced fat provolone cheese,  1.5 cup (dry) of Carba Nada pasta, 1 cup of Ragu vegetable spagetti sauce.

Directions:

Pre-heat oven to 400 degrees. 

First I assembled an eggplant breading line:

In the far left I have my sliced eggplant, in the middle black bowl is my one egg white, and in the red bowl I have my bread crumbs, parmesan cheese and dash of salt, pepper, and garlic seasoning.  I dipped each piece of eggplant into the egg white and the generously coated each side with my breadcrumb mixture before laying flat onto a greased cookie sheet. 

I then placed my breaded eggplant into the oven for 10 min. I then immediateltly heated a small sauce pan full of water for my pasta. Once it was time to flip my eggplant my water was boiling so I placed my Carba Nada Pasta into the pan to begin cooking. 

This pasta only takes five minutes to cook and coincidentally once I flipped my eggplant slices they only needed to cook another five minutes as well.  While waiting on this I cut my one slice of cheese into smaller pieces:

After my pasta had cooked I strained the water off and just left my pasta in the strainer (this pasta will not get extremely sticky like others tend to).   Once I took my breaded eggplant out of the over each slice will was nice and crispy! 

In another greased deeper pan I layered…

my breaded eggplant

piece of my cheese

some of my cold spagetti sauce

I did this until I ran out of eggplant, cheese pieces and sauce.  I then placed my layered “eggplant parm” back into the oven for an additional 5 minutes. 

When my layered pasta was complete I then placed it on top of my pasta and…

Viola!

This dish is very filling, very low in calories and VERY delicious:)!  If you have any questions about the recipe or try it out yourself please let me know what you think!

P.S. Most of my pictures are taken with my I-Phone so I apoligize for the lack of quality!  Maybe Santa (somebody… anybody) will get me a new one for Christmas:)! 

Leave a Reply

