Mindful Eating…

Standard

Late last night I read a really interesting piece on Mindful Eating:

Mindful Eating

So I decided to really take time not only preparing my meals today but to really slow down while eating them to enjoy them more! Since I made Mike french toast for dinner last night of course thats what I was craving this morning when I woke up:

I got a little creative at 7:30am and made french toast using one whole wheat sandwich thin.  After the slices of french toast were cooked I topped the plate with vanilla greek yogurt and a puree I made last night of blueberries/strawberries/and cherries.  This was SO good and hit the spot with a hot cup of coffee.

After breakfast this morning I had an eye doctor apt. and after my trial run of contacts this past week I took the plunge and actually ordered contacts!  Its so weird to not wear my glasses, they have been apart of my identity for SO long but I am really getting used to my contacts and I actually LOVE them, especially when I am working out! After the doctors I was back home to dig into work! Before I knew it lunch time was here and I was craving Mexican food. So welcome to my quesadilla creation!

Spicy Chicken Quesadilla

Ingredients:

1 sm. can of shredded chicken

1/2 pack of mild taco seasoning

1/4 cup of canned black beans

Handful each of chopped onion and green pepper

1/2 cup of low fat mozzarella cheese

2 low fat tortillas

Instructions:

In a small sauce pan combine, shredded chicken, drained black beans, onions, peppers, taco seasoning and 2 tsp. of water.  Cook until all ingredients are warmed and onions and peppers are tender.

In a griddle spray a tad bit of Pam and lay down first tortilla and sprinkle a bit of mozzarella :

On top of the cheese and tortilla add your chicken mixture:

Then place the rest of the mozzarella cheese and add the other tortilla:

On medium heat carefully flip your quesadilla until both sides are nice and brown and you can see the cheese has melted inside! Once cooked cut the quesadilla into 4’s (if you wish) and ENJOY!

I had a small green salad on the side with salsa as my “dressing”.  This recipe was great and for sure a new “easy to make” favorite of mine!

Back to work now for me!  I’m keeping a close eye on the weather because Mike and I want to go a for a bike ride tonight after work and of course it looks as though its going to rain any moment:(!  Is it really too much to ask for a couple days in a row of beautiful sunshine!

One response »

Leave a Reply

