What did the carrot say to the wheat?

Standard

Lettuce rest, I’m feeling beet.
–   Shel Silverstein

When Mike and I first became home owners I loved our back yard because there was a raised garden bed that I knew would be the perfect place to plant my first ever vegetable garden:)!  I did alot of reading and research and after Mother’s Day this year I planted big boy tomatoes, banana peppers, onions and zucchini.

The size of my zucchini is amazing!  And today I saw that they are started to develop:)

Its really cool to see my veggies change SO much from day to day!  Ok I’m done tooting my own horn about my amazing green thumb:)!

Breakfast

When I woke up this morning I knew oatmeal was on the menu but I was eager to try something new.  I had some unsweetened coconut so I got creative:

Crazy Coconut Oatmeal:

-Instant plain oatmeal

-1/4 cup of walnuts

-1 small box of organic raisins

-1/4 cup of unsweeted coconut flakes

-1 tsp. of coconut oil

Combine all ingredients and cook on high in microwave for 2 min.  I poured a small bit of sugar free maple syrup and a bit of soy milk to complete.  OMG this was so good it was like eating desert for breakfast.

All morning I worked… worked… worked… Lunch was easy today I had the rest of the Roasted Eggplant Parmesan I made last night and a small piece of cabatta bread with an olive oil/garlic spread.

Since I have been so stressed out about our upcoming wedding and life in general I decided I should do what I do best when I am stressed… CLEAN!  I omitted my workout today and dedicated it to mowing our grass, weed-eating, and cleaning out my flower beds.  I had impeccable timing because as soon as I was done outside it began to rain so I decided to keep the good times rolling and I headed inside to clean.  Our house is never dirty (Mike thinks I have a slight case of OCD) however with our animals I like to mop our hard wood floors at least every two weeks.  After I got our home sparkling clean I sat down an enjoyed a nice slice of watermelon I got from the local small farmers market.

Mike got home from work and was off to install a new garbage disposal since ours took a crap.

I bummed around while he did that and searched for a delicious recipe to make for dinner. We had chicken breast I needed to cook up so that was what I was after… a great chicken dish.  BOY did I find it! Tonight for dinner….. (drum roll please) we had Pasta with Chicken-Artichoke Wine Sauce.

Mike’s brother joined us for dinner so I didn’t get a chance to snap pics because we were all visiting but it looked alot like the picture in the recipe.  I did omit the pasta used in the recipe for Carba Nada Egg fettuccine pasta.

Now that my belly is full, my veggies are a’ growin in my garden and my house is clean I’m off to do spend some time with Mike and enjoy this rainy evening.

Question of the evening:

What is your favorite home-grown veggie?

Mine hands down is sweet corn!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

